Bill Summary 2nd Session of the 58th Legislature

Bill No.: SB 1612
Version: FS
Request No.: 3723
Author: Sen. David
Date: 03/15/2022

Bill Analysis

The FS for SB 1612 creates the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Unification, Recruitment, and Retention Act of 2022. The measure consolidates the Oklahoma Highway Patrol Division, Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation, and Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control under the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. Consolidation of the listed agencies shall take effect July 1, 2023. Additionally, a Mental Wellness Division is created to provide mental wellness services and programs to public safety personnel. The measure also creates the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Revolving Fund as well as a Mental Wellness Division Revolving Fund. A not-for-profit organization is established to raise funds for the Mental Wellness Division Revolving Fund.

The measure establishes minimum qualifications for the Commissioner and creates the Board of Public Safety, which shall be comprised of 11 members. Such members shall be appointed by the Governor, Pro Tempore, and Speaker of the House. Membership on the Board shall also include the Attorney General or their designee, 2 members appointed by the Board of Directors of the Oklahoma Sheriffs' Association Board, 1 member appointed by the District Attorneys Council, and 2 members appointed by the Board of Directors of the Oklahoma Association of Chiefs of Police. The Secretary of Public Safety shall chair the Board as well as host meetings. The measure provides that the Commissioner shall be appointed no later than January 1, 2023.

Prepared by: Kalen Taylor